Events 2018-2019

FDP on "Outcome Based Education"-25.08.2018

NMC conducted a One Day Workshop on Outcome Based Education under the aegis of University Grants Commission for its faculty members on 25th August, 2018.

Dr.M.G.Sethuraman, Professor of Chemistry of the Gandhigram Rural Institute, Dindigul served as the resource person and conducted the workshop sessions. The objective of the workshop is to design and develop Curriculum based on Outcome Based Education for implementation in the college from 2019 – 2020. Deans, HoD’s and around 150 Teachers of the college underwent the training and designed a draft model curriculum for 14 different disciplines. The Outcome Based Education is a new curriculum model proposed by the Government of India baed on Washington Accord. The UGC recently suggested that OBE could be implemented in the Arts and Science Colleges and Universities in the ensuring the academic year.

While addressing the participants the resource person insisted that the objectives of the curriculum should benefit the students. He elucidated the salient features of Outcome Based Education. Curriculum revision is ought to focus on institutional vision and mission, programme outcomes and course outcomes. The process of OBE includes specification of Programme Objectives, Programme Outcome, Graduate Attributes, Course Objectives, Course Outcomes and grading rubrics. He further opined that teaching, research, extension and placement are the four pillars of education system.

Later each Board (Subject) was trained to devise a blue print based on OBE for the respective programme. The draft curriculum was presented and evaluated by the resource person.

Earlier the College Committee President Shri.Pon.Balasubramanian delivered the inaugural address, Dr.A.R.Ponperiasamy, Principal delivered the introducing remarks about OBE and objectives of the workshop. During the valediction Dr.K.T.Tamilmani, Convener of the workshop and Dean of Academic affairs presented a report on the training and outcomes of the workshop. Prof.M.Muralidharan, Head, Dept. of Computer Science proposed a vote of thanks at the end.

Click here for more photos