Departments - Zoology
About the Department

The Department of Zoology was established in 1967 with the introduction of Pre-university Course. The Department has been offering B.Sc., programme from 1982. The department is headed by Dr. P. Neelanarayanan, M.Sc., M.Phil., B.Ed., Ph.D., with three other faculty members in the aided stream and all of them are PhD holders.

B.Sc., M.Sc., M.Phil (FT/PT), and Ph.D (FT/PT) programmes are offered in the self-supporting stream with 6 faculty members. The department has a unique feature i.e., all faculty members are Ph.D. holders.

The department has organized 5 seminars, 7 workshops and 2 Conference of both national and international levels. Five Major Research Projects to the tune of Rs.77,11,800/- have been completed and one major Research Project is ongoing for Rs.37,00,000/-. The department has completed 5 Minor Research Project with a total cost of Rs.5,76,000/-. Thirteen Research scholars have been awarded with Ph.D. Degree and 12 scholars are pursuing Ph.D. programme.

Dr.P.Neelanarayanan is the Principal Investigator and Director for the Centre for Eco-Friendly Agro – Technologies (CEAT). The centre has a facility to produce vermicompost i.e., a Bio-fertilizer. Since 2007, it has produced 394.87 tonnes of Bio-fertilizer and generated a revenue of Rs. 24,34,493/-. The department has been offering an advanced diploma programme in Biofertilizers and Vermiculture.

  • To inculcate the skills required in Zoology to transform each student as a teacher/researcher/self-employer of tomorrow.
  • To provide quality education and skills in the field of Life Sciences for accomplishing the transformation and
  • To teach the values of honesty, morality and responsibility for holistic development.

The M.Sc. programme demands a good amount of effort and time from the students. All possible help is extended to them by the department and by every faculty members. There is a free and healthy relationship between the faculty and students. This is possible because of favourable student-teacher ratio.